Coal Vines in Austin

My mom came into Austin for the evening and we decided to go to Coal Vines on 2nd street. I have been to the Coal Vines in Dallas but never had to the chance to try the new Austin location. It was a chilly, rainy night and warm pizza and wine was just what I was craving. I had high expectations since I like the original Coal Vines in Dallas.

Great atmosphere. Dark and cozy with the sounds of Frank Sinatra and other favorites playing in the background. On Wednesday night, the restaurant was that perfect amount of crowded, enough people to fill the place but we were able to snag a table right when we walked in.

I am huge red wine lover, cabernets especially. Lately though I have been going with Malbecs. That night we both chose the Dinseno Malbec after sampling the 14 Hands Cabernet. It was a great accompaniment.

My mom and I spilt everything, my favorite thing to do while eating! We split this salad which is the creamy gorgonzola balsamic vinegar with pears and candied walnuts. My mom is allergic to spinach so they were able to put this with Romaine lettuce instead of the traditional spinach. It was delightful… how could it not be with sweet pears and candied walnuts.

Right before the pizza came out, the server brought the fresh parmesan, dried oregano and red pepper. It’s funny how such simple things make meals so enjoyable.

We got the Special White Pizza, which is different from the regular white pizza. We added sausage and mushrooms. It was delicious and the crust was perfect! Crispy and chewy all at the same time, you know what I am talking about it. This is the small pizza and my mom and I were only able to finish half of it. The decadent cheese made this pizza on the heavier side but it was worth every bite!

Time to dig in! I can say that I enjoyed this Coal Vines as much as the original. The staff were super polite and I will be back soon! My mom loved it too and said she will definitely be visiting their Southlake location soon too!

Check out more at: Coal Vines Austin

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 30 other followers

